The thing about writing a blog is that you actually have to write the blog.

Writing a blog  is much easier in theory than in practice. Um, really?

Interest? Check.
Ideas? Check.
Good intentions? Check?
Time?
Time?
Time?
Not so much.

Finding the time to put pen-to-paper (or fingers-to-keyboard) is easier said than done. And that’s my “um, really?” moment for today.

I’ve run countless “time management” workshops in my professional life. And my #1 piece of advice is that if you intend to do something, you need to put it into your calendar. Part of the “failing to plan is planning to fail” philosophy.

It’s time for me to take my own professional advice. Blogging time is now going into my calendar. Which means I’ll be back here more often, with more “um, really?” moments.

What’s your #1 trick for getting things done?

4 thoughts on “The thing about writing a blog is that you actually have to write the blog.

  1. mrsderrig says:

    I always need a To Do List. I need to physically check things off my list and have a sense of accomplishment. My life is full of lists. I love them. It’s how I get things done.

    Like

    • I’ve got the to-do list thing covered! I use wunderlist and love it. And LOVE checking things off! Writing new posts has been on the top of my personal to-do list for weeks. The problem is that if I don’t link it to a specific time/date on my calendar, it’s likely never to get done. Or so I’m realizing!

      Like

Leave a comment